Skip to Main Content

Instructor Guide to CUE Library Services & Resources

Sharing Links to CUE Library Resources

Remember, when sharing links to CUE library resources:

  • Ensure that you are logged in using your CUE email and password 
  • Select a permalink or stable URL rather than copy/pasting the URL in the browser bar (scroll down to learn more about permalinks)
  • Check that the link contains this authentication prefix https://cue.idm.oclc.org/login?url= so that students can log in from off-campus*

* Exceptions: Kanopy, O'Reilly, and Gale databases do not require an EZproxy authentication prefix

Questions? Read through the instructions below, then contact the Library Service Desk.

Permalinks & Stable URLs

When sharing a link to a CUE Library article or eBook, ensure that you are always using a permalink or stable URL. These links remain stable over time and ensure that students can log in to access the resource.

A permalink or stable URL is NOT always the one in your browser's address bar. 

  • Depending on the database, these types of links may be labelled as a Permalink, a Stable URL, or a Remote access URL.
  • The image below demonstrates where to find the permalink icon in all EBSCO databases. If the URL is copied directly from your browser's address bar, rather than using the permalink, the link will break in about 20 minutes and students who use it will be taken to a systems error page rather than a CUE login screen.

 

 

Where to Find Stable URLs & Permalinks in CUE Library Databases

Visit the blog post below to see a listing of where to find stable URLs and permalinks in CUE Library databases:

Questions? Contact the Library Service Desk:

Announcement: EZproxy prefix change

As of May 1, 2023, CUE Library has a new off-campus authentication service provider. direct links to articles, ebooks, and other resources licensed by CUE Library with the prefix http://ezproxy.aec.talonline.ca/login?url= will no longer connect from off-campus. 

What is an EZproxy prefix? The EZproxy prefix appears in the URL of a direct link to articles, ebooks, and other resources licensed by CUE Library. Although it is called a "prefix" it does not always appear at the beginning of the URL. When the link is clicked on, the EZproxy prefix opens a login screen so the resource can be viewed from off-campus.

  • The OLD prefix is http://ezproxy.aec.talonline.ca/login?url=
  • The NEW prefix is https://cue.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

What do you need to do?
Check your links to library materials, especially links posted in Moodle, to ensure that they connect to the right resource, especially if you are duplicating course material from previous years. Links should include the NEW prefix. Although it is called a "prefix" it does not always appear at the beginning of the URL.

If your links include the OLD prefix, change them to the NEW prefix. Example:

  • This link contains the OLD prefix: http://ezproxy.aec.talonline.ca/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23925362.
  • This link contains the NEW prefix: https://cue.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/23925362. 

Exceptions: Kanopy, O'Reilly, and Gale databases do not require an authentication prefix so links to these resources do not need to be changed.

Questions? Read the Sharing Links to Library Resources section of this guide and contact the Library Service Desk for assistance.