Why are stable URLs important? Sharing stable links, rather than the URLs found in the browser bar, ensures that students are consistently directed to the correct resource, without the risk of the URL breaking.
EBSCO Databases
CUE Library licenses many databases from EBSCO. Academic Search Complete, ERIC, MLA International Bibliography, and PsycINFO are some of the most popular EBSCO databases, but the library has many others as well. In all EBSCO databases, you will find the permalink on the right-hand side of the abstract page.
The item's permalink will then appear at the top of the page. Click on the link, select the entire link, then copy and paste it into your email, document, or Moodle, etc.
ACM Digital Library
Within the ACM Digital Library database, the article's stable digital object identifier (DOI) is found between the title and abstract.
Canadian Periodical Index (Gale OneFile)
To access permalinks on the Canadian Periodical Index database, select “Get Link” at the top right-hand side of your article.
A new box will then appear with the permalink that you can then select, copy, and paste into your email, document, or Moodle.
Films on Demand (Individual Videos)
To share a single video from Films on Demand, find the permalink by clicking “Share” - which is located under the video.
A box will then appear with the stable URL for you to copy and paste.
Films on Demand (Video Series)
If you would like to share a video series, click “Page Link” located under the series title.
A permalink for the entire video series will then appear below for you to copy and paste.
Gale Primary Sources
To access the permalink in the Gale Primary Source database, click “Get Link” - found on the top right-hand corner of the screen.
The permalink will then appear in a new box. Click select to copy and paste the link into your email, document, or Moodle, etc.
JSTOR
On the JSTOR database, you will find the permalink on the left-hand side of the page of your selected article under the “item details”.
Kanopy
To share a Kanopy video, you will find the permalink under “Share” just below the video's title.
Once you click “Share”, a box with the permalink will appear.
NRC Research Press Journal
On the NRC Research Press Journal database, you will find the DOI for your selected article just under the title and above the abstract.
O'Reilly Ebooks
Currently, copying and pasting O'Reilly links that are found in your browser bar will result in students being asked to pay for access to that resource. To avoid this situation, once you have found a resource that you want to share from O'Reilly, look it up by title in the CUE Library catalogue and share the resource's catalogue permalink.
ProQuest eBook Central
After selecting the eBook of your choice on the ProQuest eBook Central database, you will find the permalink by selecting “Share Link to Book” on the left-hand side of the abstract page, as seen below.
Once you select “Share Link to Book” a small box will appear on your screen with the permalink. Please note: to share any eBooks from ProQuest you will be required to make an account using your Concordia email and password.
Pubmed
On the Pubmed database, you will find the DOI above the title of your selected article.
Science Reference Source
The permalink on the Science Reference Source is located on the left-hand side of the articles abstract page.
After clicking “Permalink”, the link will appear at the top of the abstract page.
ScienceDirect
Permalinks on the ScienceDirect database will be found below the title and authors of your selected article.
Taylor & Franis eBook
In the Taylor and Francis eBook database you can find the DOI in the item description. The URL link in the address bar will also work as a permalink to the eBook.
Taylor & Francis Journals
In the Taylor and Francis Journals database you can find the DOI below the journal title. The URL link in the address bar will also work as a permalink to the journal article.
If you require assistance with sharing links to library resources, please contact your program's liaison librarian.