Finding Articles

1) Watch the Searching Education Research Complete to learn how to search a library database.

Use the checkbox for academic journals if you want to limit your results to those sources.
Use the checkbox for peer-review if you want to limit your results to that type of article.
Improve your search with more tips from this handout and this video on Boolean searching.

2) Watch Requesting Articles through Interlibrary Loan to learn how to order a copy if CUE Library does not have the full text.

You will need your library barcode and PIN to place a request.

3) Search a database that is focused on research in education.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals covering all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a comprehensive education database, containing records for scholarly journal articles, professional reports, conference papers, books, dissertations, and theses.

Too many results? Not enough results? Results off topic?

Try this:

1) Search the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education to learn more about your topic, get information about recent research, and gather more precise search terms to use in the databases..

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education This link opens in a new window
A substantive, peer-reviewed and regularly updated reference resource in education.

2) Boost your searching skills

Watch the video Picking Your Topic Is Research then narrow or broaden the scope of your topic.
Learn more about selecting and using keywords and how to select better search terms.
Learn more about Boolean operators and how to use them in your search query.
Examine other sections of this guide, including Advanced Research & Writing and Help & Tutorials.

3) Search more databases

These are listed in the Education Databases section.

Remember to add keywords like CLASSROOM, CHILDREN, or EDUCATION to get more relevant results
Search the CUE Library Catalogue to see a wide range of items, available from CUE Library and NEOS Libraries.
Search Google Scholar and read the Google Scholar section of this guide.

4) Get support

Consult CUE Library for help choosing a database, selecting keywords, limiting your results, and for more tips on how to search effectively.
Consult your instructor to clarify the assignment and ensure you are on the right track. They may offer you some source titles or author names to get you started.
Consult your classmates. What is and is not working for them as they do their own research?