Education - Library Guide

Scroll down to watch the video tutorials then visit the CUE Library Website or the Edmonton Public Library Website to search for books. 

Register for an L-Pass to borrow from the Edmonton Public Library

Consult the other tabs in this section for 

• Children's literature websites that provide suggested titles (book lists)
• Sources of children's books online (ebooks and read aloud videos)
• Indigenous children's literature

Watch How to Search the EPL Catalogue (All Ages), for even more detail about using filters to limit your search.

Watch the Searching for Books video tutorial.

Visit the CUE Library Website - Enter your search terms then scroll down and use the Advanced Search options to limit your results.

• Use the Format menu and choose Book, eBook, or another format.
• Use the Audience menu and choose "Juvenile" for children's books
• Use the Content Type menu to choose Fiction or NonFiction.
• Use the Held by Library checkbox beside Concordia (un-check the NEOS box if you only want to see CUE Library holdings)

Browse our Booklists - Sample titles gathered by CUE library staff to help you get started.

• Click on a list to open it and browse the titles.
• Click on a title to open its CUE Library record.
• Scroll down to see that item's contents, subjects, and descriptors.
• Use these terms to search for similar items. 

Learn more about borrowing books and using eBooks.

• Use your Library Barcode & PIN to place a hold on items that are checked out or available from other NEOS libraries.
• Prefer digital resources? Limit your search to eBooks, eVideos, or articles.
• Place an interlibrary loan request to receive a scan of articles or ebook chapters not available at CUE Library.

These websites typically contain lists of suggested books and/or a database you can search for titles.

Canadian Sites

• Adrienne Gear Reading Power - Booklists
• Alberta Books for Schools
• CCBC Canadian Children's Book Centre - Home Page
  • CCBC Best Books for Kids and Teens
  • CCBC Social Justice & Diversity Book Bank
  • CCBC History Teacher's Book Bank
• CanLit for Little Canadians
• Children's and Young Adult Book Resources - from Canadian author Cynthia Leitich Smith
• Empowering the Spirit 
  • Indigenous Literature Kit - Scroll down to find book lists
  • K-12 Infusing Indigenous Texts in Classrooms - Scroll Down to find book lists
• Indigenous Literature - CUE Faculty of Education including a spreadsheet with summaries
• University of Lethbridge - Literature Guides

American & International Sites

• A Mighty Girl
• ASLC Recommended Books - A division of the American Library Association
• Books In The Classroom - Also known as Carol Hurst's Children Literature Site
• Children's Book Council - A group of children's book publishers
  • Reading Lists and Diverse Resources
• Cooperative Children's Book Center - Use the drop-down menus under Literature Resources or CCBC Book Search
• Children's Picture Book Database - Miami University
• Cooperative Children's Book Center - University of Wisconsin-Madison
• Diverse BookFinder
• International Literacy Association - Resources by Topic
• Metametrics Lexile Search - Search by grade level, reading level (Lexile scale), or topics of interest
• Reading Rockets - Themed Booklists
• Social Justice Books - Booklists and Guide for Selecting Anti-Bias Children’s Books

Not just title lists, but the actual ebooks or someone reading the books aloud. You may be required to create an account or follow a specific method to log in. 

CUE Library - Use the Advanced Search options to limit your results to Concordia (remove NEOS) and to ebook, or other formats, as preferred. If requested, log in with your CUE email and password.

Edmonton Public Library - Use the Advanced Search options to limit your results to Format: ebooks & Audience: children.

• If you are a CUE student, you can register your CUE ID card as an L-Pass in order to use these books. 
• If you live in Edmonton, you can sign up online for a free membership.
• If you live elsewhere, contact your local public library to get a membership and use their resources.

Skybrary - A database of K-3 ebooks, including a read aloud option. Email jenna.innes@concordia.ab.ca for access because this ebook collection has a unique log in process and your CUE email & password will not work. Watch the video tutorial Searching Skybrary to see a demonstration.

Storyline Online - Popular actors and authors performing read alouds.

International Children's Digital Library - No login or registration required. Includes folktales from many cultures and in multiple languages.

Epic! - Create an Educator account for your own access. Warning - the site's business model is to sell access to parents by limiting student access during non-school hours to only 2hrs a week. 

Search Google or YouTube for a read aloud video - The quality of the video and the readers will vary, and not all books have a read aloud posted, but this may still be useful simply to see the book an decide if you want a print copy. Search for titles or topics you are interested in and add the words Read Aloud Video.

CUE Faculty of Education Archive of Resources for Teachers

• Literature for children     •  Websites   
• Artists   •  ​Documents    •  Videos   •  Community

Truth & Reconciliation Books for the Classroom

• Recommended by the Indigenous Education Council, Indigenous Education PD Facilitators, and the English Language Arts Council of the ATA.

Books to Build On: Indigenous Literatures for Learning - U of Calgary

• Searchable website of Indigenous education resources, lesson plans, and texts in multiple formats. Resources can be filtered by school subjects, age recommendations, themes or topics, format, keywords, or in combination.
• Consult CUE Library staff for assistance finding items in CUE Library, as the links on this website may go to the U Calgary library.

Voices of the Land

• Watch the video series on how to use the Voices of the Land website.
• Browse the collection of stories, knowledge and experiences of Indigenous peoples in Alberta

Indigenous Children's Stories by Topic - Lakehead University, Ontario

• Browse the other sections of this guide to see lesson plans and search tips.

ARPDC Alberta Regional Professional Development Consortia

• Indigenous Literature Kit - Scroll down to access the full kit and division level book lists
• Literacy to Support Truth & Reconciliation
• Infusing Indigenous Texts in Classrooms - Series of brief videos, including book talks of favorite titles.

Legacy of Hope Foundation

• Curriculum resources that emphasize Indigenous voices and explore First Nations, Inuit, and Métis experiences. Includes lesson plans, activity guides, videos, and more. 
• Interweaving our Communities project works with Indigenous Knowledge Keepers across Canada. Scroll down to see sections on Traditional Teachings and Western Canada.

Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada - Scroll down to find the search box or click on the Table of Contents icon on the left.

Indigenous Children's Literature booklist - CUE Library

Acknowledgement of Problematic Subject Headings

Nelson Education - Pre K - 12

Pearson - K - 12 Education for Canada

Scholastic.ca

Scholastic Education