Topics -The Imperialist - ENG 382 - Instructor Katie Ayer - Early 20th Century Canadian Literature - LibGuides at Concordia University of Edmonton

Topics - The Imperialist

Sarah Jeanette Duncan's The Imperialist

Research the Imperial Federation League in Canada, including its ideas and aims. How does Sara Jeannette Duncan incorporate this material into her novel The Imperialist? What is the effect of this historical organization on the novel’s themes?
How is a sense of national identity developed in the minds of the central character(s) in The Imperialist, and what forms does it take? In particular, how do the Canadian characters define themselves in relation to Great Britain and the United States?
Compare and contrast the portrayal of male and female characters in The Imperialist. Consider some of the following questions to get you started: What social roles are expected of either gender? Do any characters break away from these roles? What goals do Lorne and Advena have as young adults? What factors help or hinder them in achieving these goals?

Background Information:

Imperial Federation League in Canada: Constitution, Rules, & C.

Watch these video tutorials to learn how to search library databases.

Then, search the CUE Library catalogue and some of the Library Databases listed below.

Suggested databases:

JSTOR

Access to scholarly journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Literature Resource Center
This resource provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every literary discipline. This Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library resource is paid for by the Government of Alberta.
MLA International Bibliography

A bibliography of journals, books, websites, and other publications for research in modern languages and linguistics.
Humanities Source

Full-text access to journals for humanities research worldwide.
Academic Search Ultimate
Resources from Historical Abstracts and Science Online can now be found in Academic Search Ultimate.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. This Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library resource is paid for in part by the Government of Alberta.

Watch our video tutorial on Searching multiple EBSCO databases to learn how to search more than one database at a time

The search terms below may not apply to all 3 essay topics. Use your judgement to select the strategies and sources that will fit with your specific topic. Make sure to retain the details in the suggested search terms below, which may include the term su: and some unusual punctuation like quotation marks.

Suggested search terms:

“The Imperialist”
“Sara Jeannette Duncan”
“Imperial Federation League” OR IFL OR imperialism OR imperialist
“national identity” OR nationalism OR patriotism OR “nation building”
“social role*” OR gender OR “gender role*” OR “gender expectation*” OR “social expectation*” OR “gender stereotype*” OR “sex role*”
"The Imperialist" AND one of the character's names

Watch our video tutorial on Searching multiple EBSCO databases to learn how to search more than one database at a time.