Topics - Barometer Rising - ENG 382 - Instructor Katie Ayer - Early 20th Century Canadian Literature - LibGuides at Concordia University of Edmonton

Topics - Barometer Rising

Hugh MacLennan’s Barometer Rising

In Barometer Rising, Hugh MacLennan explores the themes of identity and belonging in the context of Canadian history. How does the novel depict the struggles of characters to define themselves in relation to their country, and what does this reveal about the nature of Canadian identity?
Barometer Rising is set during World War I and the Halifax Explosion, two significant events in Canadian history. How does MacLennan use these historical events as a backdrop to explore the themes of loss and resilience in the novel?
MacLennan's use of symbolism in Barometer Rising is central to the novel's exploration of the human experience. Analyze the symbolism of the barometer in the novel and discuss its significance in the context of the characters' struggles and the themes of the novel.

Watch these video tutorials to learn how to search library databases.

Then, search the CUE Library catalogue and some of the Library Databases listed below.

Suggested Databases:

JSTOR

Access to scholarly journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Literature Resource Center
This resource provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every literary discipline. This Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library resource is paid for by the Government of Alberta.
MLA International Bibliography

A bibliography of journals, books, websites, and other publications for research in modern languages and linguistics.
Humanities Source

Full-text access to journals for humanities research worldwide.
Academic Search Ultimate
Resources from Historical Abstracts and Science Online can now be found in Academic Search Ultimate.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. This Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library resource is paid for in part by the Government of Alberta.

Watch our video tutorial on Searching multiple EBSCO databases to learn how to search more than one database at the same time.

Suggested Search Terms

These terms may not apply to all essay topics. Use your judgement to select the strategies and sources that will fit with your specific topic. Make sure to retain the details in the suggested search terms below, which may include the term su: and some unusual punctuation like quotation marks.

"Barometer rising" AND MacLennan
identity
SU: Canadian Identity
loss OR grief OR bereavement OR death
symbolism OR meaning OR symbol

Links to helpful sources:

Some articles are only available through interlibrary loan, watch the video Requesting Articles through Interlibrary Loan to learn how to order a copy.

New, William H. "The Storm and After: Imagery and Symbolism in Hugh MacLennan's Barometer Rising." Queen's Quarterly, vol. 74, 1964, pp. 302-313.