Skip to Main Content

Research & Writing

Google Scholar Tutorial - The Nature of Writing

Get More Full-Text Access

Set up Google Scholar to display CUE holdings alongside your search results.

1. Ensure that you are logged in to your CUE Google account.

  • Not sure? Look in the top right corner of the browser to see if your picture, initials, or other avatar appear.
  • Contact CUE Library or the IT helpdesk if you need assistance, before moving on to the next steps.

2. Go to scholar.google.ca

3. Expand the 3 bar menu icon in the top left corner and click on "Settings"

4. Click on "Library links"

5. In the search box "Show library access links for" type "Concordia University of Edmonton" and press the Enter key.

6. Check the box beside both of these results: 

  • Concordia University of Edmonton - Full text @ CUE Library
  • CONCORDIA UNIVERSITY OF EDMONTON - ProQuest Fulltext

7. Click "Save"

Once this is done, links to CUE Library items will display on the right side of your search results, if CUE Library has holdings of those items. Be aware that:

  • Sometimes Google does not connect to the correct item. When this happens, use the CUE Library website (or one of our databases in your subject area) and search for the title and/or author. Library staff are happy to help, just ask us!
  • There are many pros and cons to using Google Scholar, take a look at the tipsheet below to find out more.

Comparing Library Databases & Google Scholar

Library Databases Google Scholar
❌ Some databases have complex search interfaces that can make them challenging to use at first. ✅ Easy, simple, and familiar to use. Similar to using Google.
✅ The library pays for access to articles through our database subscriptions. ❌ Paywalls - you could be asked to pay for access to many of the articles presented.
✅ Easily limit search results to peerreviewed articles or scholarly journals. ❌ Cannot limit to peer-reviewed articles.
✅Easily check if a full-text copy is available in any of our other databases. ❌ Cannot easily check all library databases for free access.
✅ Easily request an electronic copy of an article from another library (for free!). ❌ Cannot easily request electronic copies of articles from other libraries for free
✅ More search result limiters, such as article type, media type, language, etc. are available. ✅ Basic search result limiters (date, author, journal, etc.) that help you focus your search results
✅ We have multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. ❌ Multidisciplinary only - not focused on a specific subject.
✅ Keyword development tools to help you identify effective keywords and search terms. ❌ No keyword development tools.

Find all of the details about the differences between library databases and Google Scholar by downloading the handout above. 

Round Out Your Google Scholar Searches

If you're not finding the right scholarly articles by using Google Scholar, try one of the library's databases.

Here is a small selection of some of our most commonly used databases: