ENG 382 - Early 20th Century Canadian Literature

5. Much of E.J. Pratt’s poetry is concerned with portraying modern human beings in the context of their natural environment as well as within the context of modern technology. How is this accomplished through the various selections in your anthology and in other poems that he wrote?

Background Information:

• Edwin John Pratt - Canadian Encyclopedia entry

Watch these video tutorials to learn how to search library databases.

Then, search the CUE Library catalogue and some of the Library Databases listed below.

Suggested databases:

• MLA International Bibliography 
• Taylor & Francis Journals
• JSTOR
• Literary Reference Source
• Literature Resource Center
• Academic Search Complete
• Canadian Reference Centre
• eBook Central
• eBook Collection EBSCOhost
• Humanities International Complete

You will need to expand your search beyond the author's name and use multiple search tools. Make sure to retain the details in the suggested searches, which may include the term su: and some unusual punctuation like quotation marks.

Suggested search terms:

• su:Pratt, E J (Edwin John), 1882 1964 Criticism and interpretation.
• Edwin John Pratt
• Many sources on E.J. Pratt mention specific poems within the article, try searching with the author's name and poem title.

Suggested ebooks - You do not have to read an entire ebook to use it in your paper - look through the table of contents and use the SEARCH WITHIN feature to find the sections that are the most relevant to your topic.

• E.J. Pratt: Complete Poems - This book provides helpful background information about the poems.
• Worrying the nation : imagining a national literature in English Canada by Jonathan Kertzer
• Harsh and Lovely Land : The Major Canadian Poets and the Making of a Canadian Tradition
• The technological imperative in Canada : an intellectual history by R.D. Francis
• The E.J. Pratt Symposium -  Contains essays on E.J. Pratt