Step 2 - Search - PACT 240 - Cooperative Games in Physical Education - LibGuides at Concordia University of Edmonton

Step 2 - Searching Library Databases

Where do I find the articles I need for this assignment?

Your instructor may require peer reviewed articles from academic journals so make sure to check off the peer-reviewed box in the search options. Not sure what peer-review means? Watch the video Peer Review in 3 Minutes
Your assignment may require primary research articles. This means that the author is reporting on the methods and results of an experiment that they did, rather than analyzing experiments that someone else did. Articles like this typically have sections on the METHOD the researchers used and the RESULTS of their experiment. When choosing the articles for your assignment, read the abstract (summary) and the article itself to ensure that the author is sharing the results of their own experiment. Not sure what a primary research article is? Watch the video Types of Scholarly Articles
Databases collect scholarly sources, such as peer-reviewed articles, on specific academic topics, making it easier to find what you need. Also, most academic sources are published behind a paywall and require you to login with your CUE email address to avoid paying a fee. Using only the material you find in a Google search can result in very limited information that is not a good fit for your assignment. Watch the video What are Databases and Why Do You Need Them? to find out why you would use a database and what sort of sources they contain.

Using the keywords you gathered in Step 1, search one or more of CUE Library's Education databases

Watch the videos Searching Education Research Complete and Choosing Keywords to learn how.
Open the Education Research Complete database, log in with your CUE email and password, then try a few searches.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals covering all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education.

If the results are not what you expected, Ask Us! for help. We can offer advice on what keywords to use, how to adjust the database features, and how to locate the articles you discover there.
Need more articles? Try searching other Education Databases, for example:

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a comprehensive education database, containing records for scholarly journal articles, professional reports, conference papers, books, dissertations, and theses.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Resources from Historical Abstracts and Science Online can now be found in Academic Search Ultimate.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. This Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library resource is paid for in part by the Government of Alberta.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed journal articles in the fields of sports and sports medicine.

Education Databases

CUE Library Databases with Education related content.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Start your search here, this database can be easier to use than ERIC. Scroll down and watch the Searching Education Research Complete video to learn how to search this database.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Indexes more primary research articles than Education Research Complete.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular sources from multiple disciplines.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The primary database for research in psychology, many cross-over topics with education.
It contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations, dating as far back as the 1800s.
https://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/training/ebsco.pdf
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education This link opens in a new window
Searchable online encyclopedia of research in education, very useful to find background information on your topic.
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed journals published by Taylor & Francis in the social sciences and humanities.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly, full-text journal articles from a multitude of disciplines.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed journal articles in the fields of sports and sports medicine.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Canadian Newsstream provides full-text access to over 400 Canadian news sources. This database also includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers.

Need a different database than the ones suggested here? Choose from:

CUE Library's Education related Library Databases
All CUE Library Databases