Indigenous Studies

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada aims to inform all Canadians of the History and Legacy of the residential schools. 

• The Commission gathered information about Residential Schools from two main sources:
  •  The archives of the Canadian government and various churches that funded and operated schools; 
  • Testimonies of former students (“survivors”), and the families of survivors, and from the community members affected by the schools. 

This report is broken into six volumes to bring to light the experiences and effects of Canada’s Residential Schools. These books address the physical, cultural, and biological genocide that occurred in Canada to the Aboriginal communities.

• Volume 1: The History
  • Part 1: Origins to 1939
  • Part 2: 1939 to 2000 
• Volume 2: The Inuit and Northern Experience
• Volume 3: The Metis Experience
• Volume 4: Missing Children and Unmarked Burials
• Volume 5: The Legacy
• Volume 6: Reconciliation 

To find more resources on the truth and reconciliation report, do a keyword search in the CUE library catalogue for “Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada”.

The Government of Canada offers a few resources for and about the Indigenous communities in Canada. 

• Indigenous Peoples: This government website addresses a variety of topics surrounding the Indigenous  including, but not limited to: benefits and rights, Indian status, housing, infrastructure, treaties, claims and agreements, and justice and policing.
• Researching Your Aboriginal Ancestry at Library and Archives Canada: How to research your personal Aboriginal history within Canadian archives and libraries.
• The Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs works to renew the relationship between Canada and First Nations, Inuit, and Metis. The website includes a list of services and information including, but not limited to, treaties, agreements and negotiations, Indigenous peoples and communities, and exploring new ways of working together.
• Indigenous Services Canada works collaboratively with partners to improve access to high quality services for First Nations, Inuit and Metis to empower them and address the socio-economic conditions within their communities.

Library and Archives Canada
Hudson’s Bay Company Archives (Winnipeg)
The Yellowhead Tribal College suggests the following books for references:

• The Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America written by Micheal Johnson and Richard Hook.
• The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas written by Bruce Trigger and Wilcomb Washburn. 
• The Encyclopedia of Native Music written by Brian Wright-McLeod.
• The Encyclopedia of Native American Healing written by William Lyon.
• The Encyclopedia of North American Indians written by Frederick Hoxie. 
• The Encyclopedia of American Indian History written by Bruce Johansen and Barry Pritzker.
• The Encyclopedia of the Great Plains Indians written by David Wishart. 

Please note: Encyclopedias are not to be used as an academic source. Encyclopedias should only be used as a tool to gain knowledge and a basic understanding of a topic to help you begin your research.

University of Winnipeg

• The University of Winnipeg offers a brief and compact list of First Nations histories.

Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls

• This National Inquiry looks into and reports on violence that has occurred to Indigenous women and girls. 
• The information provided is gathered through community and institutional hearings, past and current research, collaboration with elders, and analyzing police records. 

http://www.indianz.com/ 

This is a Native American news, information, and entertainment website owned and operated by Ho-Chunk Inc., economic development corporation of the Winnebago Tribe located in Nebraska, United States. 

Indigenous Library and Information Studies

Compiled by the instructors for the University of Alberta's "LIS 598: Indigenous Library and Information Studies in a Canadian Context" course, this website offers links to podcasts, toolkits, infographics and more.