To use the Oxford English Dictionary, you need an L-Pass or Edmonton Public Library card. Register your CUE ID card as an L-Pass or, if you live in Edmonton, you can simply get a regular Edmonton Public Library card.
An L-Pass or Edmonton Public Library card is required to use this resource.
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by Need some background information about your main concepts and literary terms? Open this ebook and use the "Search Within" feature or the Table of Contents to find the terms you are interested in. Library staff are happy to help, Ask Us!
Watch the videos below to learn how to use two of our most popular databases for students of English Literature.
Then choose a database to search from this list of CUE Library's English & Writing Databases.
Use the tips in our handouts & tutorials to help you with your search and ask the library for help via chat, text, email, or in person.
Use the tips in our handouts & tutorials to help you with your search and ask the library for help via chat, text, email, or in person.
Visit the Articles & Databases tab of this guide to learn how to search the library databases listed below.
A bibliography of journals, books, websites, and other publications for research in modern languages and linguistics.
Access to scholarly journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
This resource provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every literary discipline. This Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library resource is paid for by the Government of Alberta.
Resources from Historical Abstracts and Science Online can now be found in Academic Search Ultimate.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. This Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library resource is paid for in part by the Government of Alberta.
A full-text literary database providing a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. It contains thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical analysis essays, literary journals, reference books, and author biographies.
Full-text content from leading Canadian and international magazines, plus thousands of images from Canadian Press.
In-depth background information and scholarship on English Literature with entries on authors, titles, characters, literary movements, and historical events. Sources include encyclopedias, reference books, literary periodicals, images, and videos.
An award winning digital library and high-quality online research tool for drama and literature, including play scripts, theatrical videos, books, articles, and more.
1. Ensure that you are logged in to your CUE Google account.
2. Go to scholar.google.ca
3. Expand the 3 bar menu icon in the top left corner and click on "Settings"
4. Click on "Library links"
5. In the search box "Show library access links for" type "Concordia University of Edmonton" and press the Enter key.
6. Check the box beside both of these results:
7. Click "Save"
Once this is done, links to CUE Library items will display on the right side of your search results, if CUE Library has holdings of those items. Be aware that:
| Library Databases | Google Scholar |
|---|---|
| ❌ Some databases have complex search interfaces that can make them challenging to use at first. | ✅ Easy, simple, and familiar to use. Similar to using Google. |
| ✅ The library pays for access to articles through our database subscriptions. | ❌ Paywalls - you could be asked to pay for access to many of the articles presented. |
| ✅ Easily limit search results to peerreviewed articles or scholarly journals. | ❌ Cannot limit to peer-reviewed articles. |
| ✅Easily check if a full-text copy is available in any of our other databases. | ❌ Cannot easily check all library databases for free access. |
| ✅ Easily request an electronic copy of an article from another library (for free!). | ❌ Cannot easily request electronic copies of articles from other libraries for free |
| ✅ More search result limiters, such as article type, media type, language, etc. are available. | ✅ Basic search result limiters (date, author, journal, etc.) that help you focus your search results |
| ✅ We have multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. | ❌ Multidisciplinary only - not focused on a specific subject. |
| ✅ Keyword development tools to help you identify effective keywords and search terms. | ❌ No keyword development tools. |
Find all of the details about the differences between library databases and Google Scholar by downloading the handout above.